MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#46
José Alvarado
ERA S K
2.52 3 43
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-0 / 245
Position: RPBorn: 5/21/1995 Birthplace: Maracaibo, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Rays (2012)


Latest News
July 21 6:01 PM PT7:01 PM MT8:01 PM CT9:01 PM ET21:01 ET1:01 GMT9:01 6:01 PM MST8:01 PM EST7:01 PM CST8:31 PM VEN5:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 10 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Jose Alvarado improved to 1-3, allowing no hits over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Tuesday. Alvarado struck out three, ending the game with a 2.58 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Alvarado left the team Wednesday because of a ''personal, medical issue with a family member,'' according to manager Kevin Cash.
July 9 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 10-9 on Monday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.72 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST5:12 PM CST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Mets 3-0 on Saturday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Mets 5-1 on Friday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 4 9:45 PM PT10:45 PM MT11:45 PM CT12:45 AM ET0:45 ET4:45 GMT12:45 9:45 PM MST11:45 PM EST10:45 PM CST12:15 AM VEN8:45 UAE11:45 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 9-6 on Tuesday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 30 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST4:52 PM CST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 5-2 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 29 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST7:47 PM CST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 3-2 on Friday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 24 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one run on zero hits and one walk in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 7-6 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Friday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 2-1 on Tuesday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 18 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Houston Astros 5-4 on Monday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 17 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 3-1 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 12 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Tuesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-3, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 6 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Washington Nationals 11-2 on Wednesday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out three, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 2 11:32 PM PT12:32 AM MT1:32 AM CT2:32 AM ET2:32 ET6:32 GMT14:32 11:32 PM MST1:32 AM EST12:32 AM CST2:02 AM VEN10:32 UAE1:32 AM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Friday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 2.59 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 28 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Monday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 23 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out four, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 20 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-2 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 15 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Tuesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET1:44 GMT9:44 6:44 PM MST8:44 PM EST7:44 PM CST9:14 PM VEN5:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Monday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 5 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Saturday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Wednesday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Jose Alvarado recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Monday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST6:05 PM CST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 12-6 on Saturday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-5 on Thursday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-4 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed two runs on two hits in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-6 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one run on zero hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-7 on Friday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 12:50 PM PT1:50 PM MT2:50 PM CT3:50 PM ET15:50 ET19:50 GMT3:50 12:50 PM MST2:50 PM EST1:50 PM CST3:20 PM VEN23:50 UAE2:50 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 4-2 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Jose Alvarado blew his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Friday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 2-1 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST4:21 PM CST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-4 on Monday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST3:02 PM CST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Jose Alvarado walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-7 on Sunday. Alvarado did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST4:04 PM CST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Thursday. Alvarado struck out two, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST3:24 PM CST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Jose Alvarado did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 7-2 on Wednesday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST2:36 PM CST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Jose Alvarado fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Sunday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Jose Alvarado allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 1-0 on Friday. Alvarado struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 TB 0 3 0 - 0 35 0 0 29.2 24 12 12 1 9 1 29 1.11 3.64
2018 TB 1 3 3 - 5 42 0 0 39.1 28 14 11 1 19 2 43 1.19 2.52
Career 1 6 3 - 5 77 0 0 69.0 52 26 23 2 28 3 72 1.16 3.00



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 464 100 94 97.5 72.84
Curveball 89 87 79 83.3 13.97
Slider 84 91 84 86.8 13.19

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.