MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#45
Phil Hughes
ERA W-L K
5.87 4-3 38
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-5 / 238 NFBC ADP: 622.90
Position: SPBorn: 6/24/1986 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Yankees (2004)


Latest News
July 18 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Hughes will miss the rest of the season because of persistent arm trouble related to a condition that required rib removal surgery a year ago. The Twins put Hughes on the 60-day disabled list Tuesday, and manager Paul Molitor said another operation is possible.
Analysis: Hughes recovered from the thoracic outlet syndrome procedure for a spot in the rotation to begin the season, but he went to the DL after nine starts with a recurrence of shoulder weakness. Hughes returned as a reliever earlier this month, making five appearances. He was 4-3 with a 5.87 ERA in 53 2/3 innings.
July 15 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 1.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Houston Astros 10-5 on Friday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
July 9 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Baltimore Orioles 11-5 on Sunday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.50 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
July 8 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-1 on Saturday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
July 2 6:12 PM PT7:12 PM MT8:12 PM CT9:12 PM ET21:12 ET1:12 GMT9:12 6:12 PM MST8:12 PM EST8:42 PM VEN5:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 1.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Sunday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.72 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:26 AM PT9:26 AM MT10:26 AM CT11:26 AM ET11:26 ET15:26 GMT23:26 8:26 AM MST10:26 AM EST10:56 AM VEN19:26 UAE10:26 AM CT-Hughes (shoulder) has been activated from the DL and is expected to be pitching out of the bullpen.
Analysis: Hughes had surgery about a year ago to remove a rib, after being diagnosed with thoracic outlet syndrome that was causing shoulder pain and fatigue and contributing to decreased velocity. He went 1-7 with a 5.95 ERA last season. After going 4-3 with a 5.74 ERA over nine starts this year, Hughes was placed on the disabled list a month ago with biceps inflammation and tightness in his shoulder.
May 21 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Phil Hughes fell to 4-3, allowing five runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-4 on Sunday. Hughes struck out four, ending the game with a 5.74 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
May 17 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Phil Hughes fell to 4-2, allowing five runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-3 on Tuesday. Hughes struck out three, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Hughes allowed four earned runs or more for the fifth time in eight starts, and has a 5.73 ERA in his last four.
May 11 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed five runs - four earned - on six hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-6 on Thursday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 6 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on six hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Friday. Hughes struck out four, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Hughes had perhaps his best start of the season Friday, pitching a season-best 6 2/3 innings.
Apr. 30 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET0:25 GMT8:25 5:25 PM MST7:25 PM EST7:55 PM VEN4:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Phil Hughes improved to 4-1, allowing four runs on 10 hits in 5.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-5 on Sunday. Hughes struck out four, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Hughes improved to 2-0 on Thursday despite a subpar outing, yielding four runs and five hits - two homers - with three walks in 5 2/3 innings of an 11-5 victory over Detroit.
Analysis: Both of Hughes' outings have been on the road. His next scheduled start is Tuesday at home against Cleveland. He went 1-4 with a 6.27 ERA at Target Field last year.
Apr. 8 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Hughes pitched six strong innings for his first win in almost a year and the Minnesota Twins beat the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Friday night for their first 4-0 start since 1987.
Analysis: Hughes (1-0) made his first start since June 9, 2016, and allowed one run and five hits, struck out three and walked none. The right-hander's season was cut short last year after he suffered a broken bone above his left knee and underwent surgery for thoracic outlet syndrome. Hughes last won in a rain-shortened game on April 18, 2016, against Milwaukee.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.