MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#27
Brett Cecil
ERA S K
3.52 0 12
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-3 / 235
Position: RPBorn: 7/2/1986 Birthplace: Dunkirk, Maryland
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Supplemental Round by Blue Jays (2007)


Latest News
July 14 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Brett Cecil did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-2 on Saturday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one run on two hits in 1.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 9-1 on Friday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 10 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago White Sox 14-2 on Tuesday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 8 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST5:55 PM CST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 13-8 on Sunday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
July 6 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-Brett Cecil did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 11-2 on Thursday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 30 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-4 on Saturday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
June 29 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-1 on Friday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
June 27 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST10:37 PM CST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Brett Cecil did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cleveland Indians 11-2 on Tuesday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
June 24 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Brett Cecil did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-2 on Sunday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.87 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Brett Cecil walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-3 on Thursday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
June 20 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Wednesday. Cecil struck out two, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 13-5 on Friday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 2.08 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-3 on Sunday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed two runs - one earned - on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Miami Marlins 11-3 on Wednesday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.13 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Friday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.43 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
May 28 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST3:18 PM CST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-3 on Monday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 7.50 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one run on two hits in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1 on Friday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Wednesday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Brett Cecil walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-1 on Tuesday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
May 19 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST4:46 PM CST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Brett Cecil walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6 on Saturday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 16 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Brett Cecil did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-5 on Wednesday. Cecil struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Brett Cecil fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 0.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-1 on Tuesday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
May 13 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Brett Cecil did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Sunday. Cecil struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
May 13 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST11:18 PM CST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Brett Cecil did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 2-1 on Saturday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 11 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST3:19 PM CST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-The Cardinals activated Cecil (shoulder inflammation) from the disabled list prior to Friday's game at San Diego.
Analysis: Cecil, who hasn't pitched since opening day, will take over as the primary left-hander out of the Cardinals' bullpen.
Mar. 29 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Brett Cecil allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 9-4 on Thursday. Cecil did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Tor 7 4 0 - 0 18 17 0 93.1 116 59 55 17 38 0 69 1.65 5.30
2010 Tor 15 7 0 - 0 28 28 0 172.2 175 87 81 18 54 2 117 1.33 4.22
2011 Tor 4 11 0 - 0 20 20 2 123.2 122 68 65 22 42 1 87 1.33 4.73
2012 Tor 2 4 0 - 0 21 9 0 61.1 70 40 39 11 23 0 51 1.52 5.72
2013 Tor 5 1 1 - 3 60 0 0 60.2 44 20 19 4 23 3 70 1.10 2.82
2014 Tor 2 3 5 - 7 66 0 0 53.1 46 16 16 2 27 4 76 1.37 2.70
2015 Tor 5 5 5 - 8 63 0 0 54.1 39 17 15 4 13 3 70 0.96 2.48
2016 Tor 1 7 0 - 4 54 0 0 36.2 39 17 16 6 8 0 45 1.28 3.93
2017 StL 2 4 1 - 7 73 0 0 67.1 67 31 29 7 16 3 66 1.23 3.88
2018 StL 0 1 0 - 0 25 0 0 23.0 22 11 9 1 15 2 12 1.61 3.52
Career 43 47 12 - 29 428 74 2 746.1 740 366 344 92 259 18 663 1.34 4.15

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Tor 18 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Tor 28 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Tor 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 StL 73 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 428 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 Tor Total 0 0 0 - 1 2 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 1 2 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
2016 Tor Total 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 4.0 0 0 0 0 3 0 4 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.1 0 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 1 8 0 0 6.0 1 0 0 0 4 0 6 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 132 93 85 89.8 35.48
Curveball 133 84 76 81.2 35.75
Changeup 35 85 78 82.3 9.41
Cut Fastball 72 91 83 86.9 19.35

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.