MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
Josh Tomlin
ERA W-L K
4.98 10-9 109
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 190 NFBC ADP: 391.72
Position: SPBorn: 10/19/1984 Birthplace: Tyler, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 19th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Nov. 3 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)2:48 PM CT-The Indians exercised an $11.5 million option on outfielder Michael Brantley and a $3 million option on right-hander Josh Tomlin.
Analysis: The 33-year-old Tomlin went 10-9 with a 4.98 ERA in 26 starts, including 6-0 with a 3.11 ERA in his last 10 appearances.
Oct. 9 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Josh Tomlin did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cleveland Indians lost to the New York Yankees 7-3 on Monday. Tomlin struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 6 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the New York Yankees 9-8 on Friday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 1 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 10-9, allowing one run on four hits in 5.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out six, ending the game with a 4.98 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 27 7:47 AM PT8:47 AM MT9:47 AM CT10:47 AM ET10:47 ET14:47 GMT22:47 7:47 AM MST9:47 AM EST10:17 AM VEN18:47 UAE9:47 AM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed four runs on eight hits in 3.2 innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-6 on Tuesday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 5.11 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The four runs allowed were the most given up by Tomlin in his last nine starts, and he watched his home ERA climb to 5.57.
Sep. 21 8:03 AM PT9:03 AM MT10:03 AM CT11:03 AM ET11:03 ET15:03 GMT23:03 8:03 AM MST10:03 AM EST10:33 AM VEN19:03 UAE10:03 AM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed two runs on seven hits in 5.1 innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-5 on Wednesday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 4.98 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin hasn't made it through six innings since returning from the DL, but he has a 2.91 ERA in four starts.
Sep. 15 9:16 AM PT10:16 AM MT11:16 AM CT12:16 PM ET12:16 ET16:16 GMT0:16 9:16 AM MST11:16 AM EST11:46 AM VEN20:16 UAE11:16 AM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-2 on Thursday. T
Analysis: Tomlin struck out four, ending the game with a 5.04 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 9-9, allowing two runs on four hits in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-2 on Saturday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin was making his second start since coming off the DL. He allowed a run over 5.2 innings in Detroit on Sept. 3 and next faces the Royals on Thursday. He is 1-1 with a 1.93 ERA and 0.69 WHIP in three starts versus Kansas City this season.
Sep. 3 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 8-9, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Detroit Tigers 11-1 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out two, ending the game with a 5.20 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: This was Tomlin's first start in more than a month, and he improved to 4-0 with a 2.40 ERA in his last five overall.
July 31 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE2:53 PM CT-Tomlin (strained left hamstring) made a rehab start last Friday, allowing five runs - three earned - in 3 2/3 innings at Single-A Mahoning Valley.
Analysis: Tomlin was removed after no-hitting the White Sox through four scoreless innings on July 30. The right-hander had appeared to have overcome his early season struggles by going 3-0 with a 2.59 ERA over his last four starts.
July 30 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Josh Tomlin did not allow a hit or walk in 4.0 scoreless innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 5.38 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin threw four innings of no-hit ball before being removed from the game because of left hamstring tightness. He allowed two baserunners. It was Tomlin's first scoreless start since Sept. 20, 2015 against the White Sox.
July 24 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 7-9, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Monday. Tomlin struck out six, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has a 3.10 ERA while winning his last three starts.
July 18 8:46 AM PT9:46 AM MT10:46 AM CT11:46 AM ET11:46 ET15:46 GMT23:46 8:46 AM MST10:46 AM EST11:16 AM VEN19:46 UAE10:46 AM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 6-9, allowing three runs on six hits in 7.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Monday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 5.74 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has allowed just five runs and 10 hits over 14 1/3 innings in winning consecutive starts, though those victories came against two of baseball's worst offensive teams in the Giants and Padres. He's 0-2 with an 8.15 ERA and .415 batting average against in his last four meetings with AL clubs, something to note when he faces the Blue Jays at home on Sunday.
July 7 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 5-9, allowing two runs on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the San Diego Padres 11-2 on Thursday. Tomlin struck out six, ending the game with a 5.90 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 1 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed four runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-4 on Saturday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Another mediocre performance from the soft-tossing right-hander, who's now permitted at least four runs in five consecutive starts and hasn't lasted beyond five innings in four of those outings. Look elsewhere if you're attempting to add a starting pitcher to your fantasy roster.
June 25 4:43 PM PT5:43 PM MT6:43 PM CT7:43 PM ET19:43 ET23:43 GMT7:43 4:43 PM MST6:43 PM EST7:13 PM VEN3:43 UAE (+1)6:43 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 4-9, allowing four runs on nine hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-0 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 6.09 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin is 1-2 with an 8.00 ERA in his past four starts and has failed to complete six innings in any of those outings.
June 24 6:01 PM PT7:01 PM MT8:01 PM CT9:01 PM ET21:01 ET1:01 GMT9:01 6:01 PM MST8:01 PM EST8:31 PM VEN5:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Tomlin will make his third start of the season against the Twins on Sunday. Tomlin was 1-1 with a 2.57 ERA in the first two starts.
Analysis: In his career vs. Minnesota, Tomlin is 5-5 with a 5.13 ERA.
June 20 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed five runs on eight hits in 4.2 innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Tuesday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 6.07 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
June 15 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 4-8, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 12-5 on Thursday. Tomlin struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin, who makes his next start Tuesday at Baltimore, has yielded eight runs and 16 hits over 7.2 innings in his last two outings.
June 10 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Tomlin fell to 3-8, allowing four runs - three earned - on nine hits in 2.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-3 on Saturday. Tomlin did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: This is the third time this season that Tomlin has failed to complete three innings.
June 2 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Tomlin fell to 3-7, allowing three runs on seven hits in 7.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-0 on Friday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin really shouldn't be on anybody's fantasy radar.
May 29 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 3-6, allowing one run on six hits in 9.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-1 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the right-hander's first complete game since Sept. 15, 2015, also against Kansas City and No. 5 for his career. He threw seven innings of one-run ball at Kansas City on May 6 and makes his next start Friday in KC. He is 3-0 with a 1.45 ERA and 0.81 WHIP in his last six starts against the Royals.
May 22 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-6, allowing five runs - four earned - on nine hits in 6.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1 on Monday. Tomlin struck out four, ending the game with a 6.70 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has lost three straight starts behind a 5.94 ERA.
May 17 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-5, allowing six runs on seven hits in 2.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-4 on Wednesday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 6.86 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin was knocked around a bit after yielding two runs over 15 innings in his previous two starts. His next start will be Monday at Cincinnati, and at Great American Ball Park last May, he permitted two runs and five hits while striking out seven over 7.2 innings of a 7-2 victory.
May 12 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-4, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 1-0 on Friday. Tomlin struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 6 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed one run on three hits in 7.0 innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Saturday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 7.12 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has gotten better with each start after being ripped for 13 runs over 6 1/3 innings in losing his first two. He's gone 2-1 with a 4.13 ERA in his last four outings.
Apr. 30 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 2-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Seattle Mariners 12-4 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with an 8.87 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has yet to put together a noteworthy start, though he's won two of his last three outings while getting a wealth of offensive support in both victories. The right-hander will still be worth a look when he goes up against struggling Kansas City on Friday.
Apr. 25 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Tomlin (1-3) allowed three runs - all in the fifth - on eight hits with six strikeouts and no walks over six innings of a 4-2 loss to the Astros on Tuesday.
Analysis: After posting an 18.47 ERA in his first two starts, Tomlin has a 4.50 mark in his last two.
Apr. 8 11:02 AM PT12:02 PM MT1:02 PM CT2:02 PM ET14:02 ET18:02 GMT2:02 11:02 AM MST1:02 PM EST1:32 PM VEN22:02 UAE1:02 PM CT-Tomlin had a miserable season debut Friday as he lost to Arizona, allowing six runs and seven hits in 4 2/3 innings with a walk and six strikeouts.
Analysis: Tomlin, a key contributor in the Indians' run to the World Series last year, was sharp for three innings. Then Arizona scored twice in the fourth before erupting in the fifth.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.