MLB

#
Yordano Ventura
AVG HR RBI
.333 0 0
Team: Ht / Wt: / NFBC ADP: 370.23
Position: PBorn: // Birthplace: ,
Bats/Throws: -/- Draft: -


Latest News
Jan. 22 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE1:28 PM CT-Ventura was killed in a car crash in his native Dominican Republic on Sunday. He was 25.
Analysis: According to a highway patrol spokesperson, Ventura died on a highway leading to the town of Juan Adrian, some 40 miles northwest of Santo Domingo. It is not known if Ventura was driving. The hard-throwing Ventura came up with Kansas City in 2013 and helped the club win the World Series two years later. He posted a 38-31 career record with a 3.89 ERA and 470 strikeouts in 547 2/3 innings.
Sep. 30 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Ventura struck out eight over six innings in his final 2016 start, but was reached for four runs in Friday's loss to Cleveland.
Analysis: The right-hander concludes his campaign with a somewhat disappointing 11-12 record, a 4.45 ERA and 144 strikeouts in 186 innings. Ventura had won at least 13 games and eclipsed 150 K's in each of the previous two seasons.
Sep. 24 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Ventura gave up three runs and 10 hits while lasting just four innings before the Royals rallied for a 7-4 win over the Tigers on Saturday.
Analysis: Opponents have hit Ventura hard lately, batting at a .340 clip over his last four outings.
Sep. 19 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Ventura picked up his first complete-game victory Monday to beat the White Sox 8-3. He gave up nine hits, struck out five and walked one. His only other complete game in the majors was a 3-2 loss July 28 at Texas.
Analysis: Ventura (11-11) had allowed 10 runs, 17 hits and six walks in 11 1-3 innings in losing his previous two starts.
Sep. 3 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Ventura allowed one run in six innings despite walking six in Saturday's win over the Tigers.
Analysis: Ventura threw 53 strikes and 52 balls in six innings, allowing one run and six hits with six walks and a wild pitch. Ventura (10-9) improved to 7-0 against the Tigers, including three wins this season, and is 4-0 overall in his past six starts.
Aug. 29 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Ventura gave up four runs - three earned - in 4 1/3 innings in the Royals' 10-4 win over the Red Sox on Sunday.
Analysis: Ventura had made it through the sixth in seven of his previous nine starts, posting a 2.79 ERA.
Aug. 24 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Ventura allowed six hits and one walk while striking out six in six innings in Tuesday's 1-0 win over the Marlins.
Analysis: Ventura has won his last three decisions and has a 2.03 ERA om five August starts.
Aug. 17 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Ventura provided the Royals with another solid start Wednesday at Detroit, giving up one run and five hits over 6 1/3 innings. He walked two and struck out seven.
Analysis: Since allowing 11 runs over eight innings in consecutive starts June 28 and July 3, he has posted a 3.12 ERA in his last eight outings.
Aug. 13 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-Ventura's second-half resurgence continued Friday, when he gave up three runs and four hits in seven innings with a walk and nine strikeouts to beat Minnesota.
Analysis: Ventura has won back-to-back starts for the first time since mid-June. He has a 3.26 ERA since the All-Star break, with quality starts in five of seven outings, after posing a 5.15 ERA during the first half.
Aug. 8 9:46 AM PT10:46 AM MT11:46 AM CT12:46 PM ET12:46 ET16:46 GMT0:46 9:46 AM MST11:46 AM EST12:16 PM VEN20:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-Ventura was wild again Sunday, though he managed to win for the first time in eight starts. Ventura walked four batters but allowed one run in 6 2/3 innings against the Blue Jays.
Analysis: The right-hander, who ranks seventh-worst in the AL with 3.86 walks per nine innings, was 0-5 with a 5.40 ERA in his previous seven outings.
Aug. 3 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Ventura had more control issues Tuesday, walking four batters for the second time in three starts, but he yielded just two runs in five innings in a no-decision against Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Ventura, whose six hits allowed were all singles, threw only 57 of his 103 pitches for strikes. His 3.77 walks per nine innings ranks third-worst in the AL. He's 0-5 with a 5.40 ERA in his last seven starts despite giving up three runs or fewer in five straight.
July 29 7:45 AM PT8:45 AM MT9:45 AM CT10:45 AM ET10:45 ET14:45 GMT22:45 7:45 AM MST9:45 AM EST10:15 AM VEN18:45 UAE9:45 AM CT-Ventura was hurt by the longball Thursday as he lost his fifth straight decision. The right-hander gave up four hits in eight innings at Texas in his first career complete game, but three were solo homers.
Analysis: Ventura is 0-5 with a 5.66 ERA in six starts since beating the Tigers on June 17.
July 4 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Ventura has a Grade 1 sprain of his right ankle but is expected to make his next start Friday against Seattle. Ventura left in the third inning of Sunday's 7-2 loss at Philadelphia. He was injured running the bases after collecting his second career base hit.
Analysis: Royals manager Ned Yost said Ventura will throw a bullpen session Tuesday if he is able. The right-hander has a 6.31 ERA in his last five starts.
July 4 10:13 AM PT11:13 AM MT12:13 PM CT1:13 PM ET13:13 ET17:13 GMT1:13 10:13 AM MST12:13 PM EST12:43 PM VEN21:13 UAE12:13 PM CT-Ventura gave up four runs in 2 2/3 innings, ultimately exiting due to an ankle sprain he suffered running the bases in the top of the third inning as the Royals fell 7-2 to the Phillies on Sunday.
Analysis: Ventura's rocky season continued, as he's now given up 11 runs over eight innings in his last two starts.
June 29 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-Ventura allowed seven runs on seven hits, three walks and a hit batter in 5 1/3 innings of the Royals' 8-4 loss to the Cardinals on Tuesday.
Analysis: Ventura had only allowed one run over his last two starts, both of which came before an eight-game suspension for his role in a benches-clearing brawl during a game June 7 in Baltimore.
June 18 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Ventura came off the suspended list Tuesday to start against the Cardinals.
Analysis: Ventura was suspended eight games for his role in a bench-clearing brawl June 7 at Baltimore. He has allowed a run over 13 1/3 innings in winning his last two starts and is 1-2 with a 4.50 ERA in three career outings versus St. Louis.
June 13 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Ventura pitched seven sharp innings in his first start since his fight with Manny Machado, and the Royals beat the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Sunday for their second straight win following an eight-game losing streak.
Analysis: Ventura struck out a season-high 10 and walked one in his first win since May 17 against Boston. The 25-year-old went 0-2 with a 6.17 ERA in his previous four starts.
June 9 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Ventura was suspended nine games and fined Thursday for hitting Orioles shortstop Manny Machado in the back with a 99 mph fastball Tuesday.
Analysis: Ventura has appealed his suspension and can continue to play until the process is complete.
June 7 6:15 PM PT7:15 PM MT8:15 PM CT9:15 PM ET21:15 ET1:15 GMT9:15 6:15 PM MST8:15 PM EST8:45 PM VEN5:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Ventura was involved in yet another altercation after he hit Baltimore's Manny Machado in the back with a pitch Tuesday. Ventura had thrown two inside pitches to Machado in the second inning and the two exchanged words after his at-bat. Machado landed a punch to Ventura's face before the Royals pitcher brought him down with a hard tackle.
Analysis: Ventura will almost certainly be suspended, and as a repeat offender, it could be a very long one. He was already suspended seven games for his actions against the White Sox on April 23, 2015. Ventura hit two Orioles batters, including Machado, on Sept. 12, 2015, and has been involved in several other run-ins throughout his career.
May 1 10:57 AM PT11:57 AM MT12:57 PM CT1:57 PM ET13:57 ET17:57 GMT1:57 10:57 AM MST12:57 PM EST1:27 PM VEN21:57 UAE12:57 PM CT-Ventura suffered his first loss Saturday.
Analysis: Ventura lasted four-plus innings and was charged with five runs in an awful effort.
Apr. 25 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Ventura held Baltimore to a run and three hits over seven innings Sunday to win his second straight start.
Analysis: Ventura's control has been an issue at times, but he's still posted a 2.35 ERA through four starts despite walking 14 in 23 innings.
Apr. 9 4:00 PM PT5:00 PM MT6:00 PM CT7:00 PM ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)6:00 PM CT-Ventura had some control issues on Friday.
Analysis: He walked six in five innings, though he still held Minnesota to two hits and two runs.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 KC 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 13 6 6 3 6 0 11 1.24 3.52
2014 KC 14 10 0 - 0 31 30 0 183.0 168 70 65 14 69 1 159 1.30 3.20
2015 KC 13 8 0 - 0 28 28 0 163.1 154 75 74 14 58 1 156 1.30 4.08
2016 KC 11 12 0 - 0 32 32 2 186.0 190 96 92 23 78 1 144 1.44 4.45
Career 38 31 0 - 0 94 93 2 547.2 525 247 237 54 211 3 470 1.34 3.89

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 KC 31 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 KC 28 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 KC 32 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
Career 94 13 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 10 0 0 .154 .154 .154

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 KC Total 1 0 0 - 1 5 4 0 25.1 23 9 9 3 9 0 14 3.20
    WC 0 0 0 - 1 1 0 0 0.1 2 2 2 1 0 0 0 54.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 5 1 1 0 1 0 5 1.29
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 4 4 1 3 0 3 6.35
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.1 11 2 2 1 5 0 6 1.46
2015 KC Total 0 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 21.0 27 15 15 5 8 1 22 6.23
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.0 8 6 6 2 4 1 10 7.71
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.2 12 4 4 1 4 0 11 3.38
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 7 5 5 2 0 0 1 13.50
Career 1 2 0 - 1 10 9 0 46.1 50 24 24 8 17 1 36 4.66

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 KC Total 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    WS 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
Career 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -



@STATS_Insights